Apex Information Exchange Forum Index Apex Information Exchange
Hosted by Dr. John Kanca III DMD

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   REGISTER 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Visit Apex Dental Materials     Upload Photos To Your Post

Still experiencing sensitivity with Simplicity

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apex Information Exchange Forum Index -> Sensitivity
View previous topic :: View next topic  
JKesling

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 8:15 am    Post subject: Still experiencing sensitivity with Simplicity Reply with quote

Hi John,

I have been using Simplicity for a couple of years now with good results, aside from some sensitivity issues. I've been thinking of switching to Surpass, despite the resistance I have from staff.

The patients usually don't complain to me regarding sensitivity issues, but my front office person states that I do get calls complaining of sensitivity. I need to troubleshoot this.

When doing a quadrant of direct composites, do you apply Sim 1 to all of the teeth at once, followed by the Sim 2, or do you apply the Sim 1 and 2 to each individually? Sometimes the Sim 1 tends to pool in the prep, because I tend to make sure the tooth is etched well. Do I need to remove this excess prior to applying Sim 2? From what I can tell, I am following the protocol to a T, but want to make sure I am doing everything I can to eliminate sensitivity issues.

The other thing is, I do not place bases or liners, despite the depth of the prep. Even if I get a small exposure, as long as I obtain hemostasis, I just follow the Simplicity instructions and then place flowable over the exposure. Should I start placing Duralon on all deep preps to appease my staff. I explain to them till I'm blue in the face that bases are not necessary, but they won't believe me.

I appreciate your input.

Thanks,

Jeff
satchdds